Savage Axis 2 Precision review

Savage Axis 2 Precision review

Savage Axis 2 Precision review
Savage Axis II Precision review
In this video we take a look at the Savage Axis 2 Precision, chambered in 6.5 creedmore.
A great option for those who are loking to get into long range shooting, but arent looking into remortgaging there home to do so.
the Savage Axis 2 is likely considered to be the best budget rifle on the market, this is what you get when you put the best budget barrelled action into an MDT chassis= performance. it has been long know that the weakest link of the Savage Axis ii or 2 is the usual plastic stock that they come with flexing under preload , are just really not ideal for precision shooting. this is Savage’s take on solving that problem, and this is our review on it.

If you are looking to pick on of these up check out the links (shop around for the best price)
for the Rifle:
Cabelas: cabelas.xhuc.net/4QXj0

for the Kestrel (wind meter: major essential tool)
Amazon:
USA: https://amzn.to/2H8kVA9
Canada: https://amzn.to/3mELaib

or straight from Kestrel:
https://bit.ly/2FFvc6r

I the video we were using a USOptics TS-20X if you are interested in picking one up
amazon: https://amzn.to/3hD8Kbj

From Savage :
The Savage AXIS II has built a reputation as a budget friendly rifle that doesn’t sacrifice accuracy or performance. Now the AXIS II family has been given a Precision Series upgrade. Savage has partnered with Modular Driven Technologies (MDT) to take the AXIS II to new distances. The AXIS II Precision will open up new possibilities for the shooter that wants one hole groups from a rifle that won’t shoot holes in his wallet.

FEATURES
Exclusive MDT Chassis designed for Savage AXIS II platform
Black aluminum chassis with olive drab injection molded skin
Adjustable comb height and length of pull spacers
MLOK™ Forend
2.5-6 lb user adjustable AccuTrigger
22” Carbon steel button rifled threaded heavy barrel w/ cap
Rifles are provided with either a metal or polymer AICS magazine, dependent upon caliber selection

SKU Number 57552
MSRP $949.00
Action Bolt
Barrel Color Black
Barrel Finish Matte
Barrel Length (in)/(cm) 22 / 55.9
Barrel Material Carbon Steel
Caliber 6.5 CREEDMOOR
Magazine Capacity 10
Hand Right
Length of Pull (in)/(cm) 13.5-14.5 / 33.0
Magazine Detachable Box Magazine
Overall Length (in)/(cm) 42.5-43.5 / 106.7
Rate of Twist (in) 1 in 8
Receiver Color Black
Receiver Finish Matte
Receiver Material Carbon Steel
Type Centerfire
Stock Color OD Green/Black
Stock Finish Matte
Stock Material Aluminum
Stock Type Chassis
Weight (lb)/(kg) 9.885 / 4.08

If you own one of these models, leave your experience (what you think of them in the comments below.) If you would like to join the discussion join our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/410741373108583/

or you can follow our facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/affordableopticsandriflereviews/?modal=admin_todo_tour

#savageaxis #SavageArms #SavageRifles #mdt
#canadianrimfireprecisionseries #Affordableoptics #riflereview #america #pewpewpew #concealedcarry #sickguns #everydaycarry #edc #guncontrol #shootingrange #sniper #pistola #gunsallowed #handguns #revolver #militarylife #rifles #ammo #usa #assaultrifle #gunlifestyle #gunfanatics #shotguns #militarystyle #m #concealcarry #magnum #gunlife #gunchannels

50 Comments

  1. Normann on December 2, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    I am glad you have such rifles in a budget price ! over here in Italy, it runs about 1,350€ = 1,500 U$ :-((



  2. Jason Hastings on December 2, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    Man i need to study more!!! I didnt know savage had those out!!!



  3. Saxon ** on December 2, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    Another great video! I think I’m sold on one of these to do some prs shoots here in Australia…yes despite poplular belief we can own firearms here😂 The price of this rifle here makes it a really attractive option for a rifle to compete in production class.



  4. Jason Cornelius on December 2, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    Are you using hand load rounds? Or box ammo?



  5. john blackbird on December 2, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    I love the 6.5 creed but don’t know if could afford the ammo



  6. Annatar on December 2, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    Great video! Actually subscribing because of this. As for breaking in the muzzle, do you have a guess as to how many rounds it took to "break it in" all the way?



  7. john blackbird on December 2, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    Nice



  8. Gabe Geise on December 2, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    I just picked one of these up in 6.5 Creedmoor. I asked Savage about their break in procedure via email and their exact response was, “We have not found a break in to make much difference on any of our guns”. However they also said if one wants to do a break in to follow the link below. Curious where you stand on break in and if your for it what’s your process.

    https://service.savagearms.com/hc/en-us/articles/214238323-What-is-the-barrel-break-in-procedure-



  9. Ray Merriment on December 2, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    Tell me how good is this rifle to use in high-precision shooting? Help with choosing a rifle. I choose between Remington 700 Adl, savage 110 tactical and savage axis precision. Tell me which is the best of these rifles to choose?



  10. Chris Ferguson on December 2, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    If you were slinging larger bullets, you may be able to hear it.🤔 Most of the rifles you review come in multiple calibers…not just one.🇨🇦👍🇺🇸



  11. J T on December 2, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    Great video and info but it’s not a damn shassis, it’s a chassis



  12. Nail on December 2, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    you can buy an Oryx chassis for most rifles



  13. TTV SleezyFN123 on December 2, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    I’m not the biggest 13 yr so how much Kick does the 6.5 creedmoor have?



  14. Bob on December 2, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Recently got the Axis Precision in 6.5 creedmoor. Mounted a $69.00 Barska scope on it and took it to the range for the first time. 5 shot group at 50 yards was one hole. 5 shot groups at 100 yards opened up, but were still under 1 MOA. Shooting new Lapua brass, 123 Lapua scenars and 37gr of H4350. Need to get a real scope, appropriate shooting bags/rest, and work up a load.



  15. john blackbird on December 2, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    Kewl



  16. Mike Rogers on December 2, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    What scope you using



  17. Jason K on December 2, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    Any rusting going on? Some say the axis models get rust very easy i want to purchase one but im still on the fence about it.



  18. Pete Bentley on December 2, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    Savage us southpaw shooters with this gun,they did not make this gun in left hand.they do make left handed hunting rifles in the axis series in left handed,but not in this model as of yet or the last time I checked on this model!!!!!



  19. Max Otto on December 2, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    The distances to the target are different but the targets background is exactly the same hey?



  20. Vladimir Putin on December 2, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    Please explain why it’s $800 when the regular savage axis is $350 and under? Also please explain to me how $800 is budget price.



  21. Danny Kelso on December 2, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    Will it except a AR10 Magazine for the 308 model?



  22. Marcepan on December 2, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    I’m thinking of buying. Which caliber is better than 308 or 6.5?



  23. Todd Parsons on December 2, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Wish it was chambered in 6.5 PRC or 6.5-284.



  24. Kyle Tyson on December 2, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    That does it I’m getting one



  25. Remorseless Cuck Slayer II on December 2, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    Good luck finding one.



  26. Bob Ingalls on December 2, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    Those are over $900 in the US at the current time.



  27. Dado Ustovic on December 2, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    I just purchased mine, all is great but the bolt is extremely heavy when lifting. Is anyone else having this issue?



  28. TTV SleezyFN123 on December 2, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    What cal were you using?



  29. Jason Lopez on December 2, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Is just the Savage axis ii XP in a new frame. I like the frame not hand gard no good. Is a &350 rifle on a $450 stock or chassis. Just order a chassis like me and switch the stock out.



  30. chris on December 2, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    I have a question. Will this work with the PMAG AICS short action mags as well as the Ruger AICS short action mags?



  31. Andrew A on December 2, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    why do you individually load the rounds? doesnt it hold like 10????



  32. Morag Tong on December 2, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    SWFA SS 10×42…also rifle is available in .308 Winchester



  33. Cain Cuevas on December 2, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    What scope is on that rifle



  34. Jaime Fuentes on December 2, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Do you have the link for the megazine a have the same rifle my is a 308



  35. C.R. RG95 on December 2, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    Show some more range work with this rifle. Still accurate,bolt action any smoother?



  36. dennis bryan on December 2, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    850 usd I just got one for 950 but it came with a scope



  37. Miguel Peraza on December 2, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    Please use yards NOT meters were not in EUROPE !



  38. Ray Merriment on December 2, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    Hello you have savage axis precision?



  39. Michaelangelo on December 2, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    So the scope was more than the gun lol?! Why are scopes so expensive?



  40. Joseph Curulli on December 2, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Excellent and thorough video I’m close to buying one now thank you



  41. Fred Thompson on December 2, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Great shooting. The Axis MDT is a nice combo. The metric ranging is a tip off that you must be in Canuckistan.



  42. Emory Bragg on December 2, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    You sold me on it. Great video.



  43. Chip C on December 2, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    This looks like so much fun that I bought it.



  44. MalumInSe on December 2, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    You can get the ejector "fixer" kit that takes about 35 min to install and costs about $20.00. It’s the ONE major ptifall of the Savage bolts. That weak ejection is awful. Adding the kit is good, though. The axis action is not fast or smooth. The barrel and chassis are the lowest common denominators. However, it’s a 1500 yard gun for less than 1k.



  45. Mr. Marcus on December 2, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Superb video I’m sold I was in the market for a 6.5 and 45-70 marlin anyway 👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽 I will grab one of these thanks



  46. Mark Sornson on December 2, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    Love the video, First thing Monday I’m to see if I can buy one at my gun shop, What wind gauge are you using?



  47. Jolujo 58 on December 2, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    But it’s not a sub MOA rifle. And savage manufacturing quality is iffy at best.



  48. Ken Bumgarner on December 2, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Excellent information. Didn’t hear or read what Brand/Grain/Round size? Thanks



  49. C.R. RG95 on December 2, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    I bought 1 because of your review. Glad I did. .47 inch groups



  50. Bob Ingalls on December 2, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    I opted for the 30-06 platform of this particular gun. This is really hard to find at the present time. Had search long and hard but found one gun store online selling it. It’s backorder only, though!