The Truth About The Hi-Point 995 1000 Round Review: $300 9mm Carbine

The Truth About The Hi-Point 995 1000 Round Review: $300 9mm Carbine

Everything you need to know about the Hi-Point 995 to decide if this sub-$300 9mm carbine is right for you. Reliability, accuracy, speed, ease of use, and quality control are all covered in this in-depth review.

Here is a link to donate to youth homeless shelter in Ames Iowa that could use your support:

DONATE ONLINE

Join our newsletter at www.honestoutlawreviews.com

Join the Patreon Squad! We appreciate your support to bring HONEST reviews:
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=5593286

50 Comments

  1. Paul Leavitt on November 25, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    my $1800 shotgun comes with a spring loaded recoil pad from the factory



  2. Cant Just Exist on November 25, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    Owned a 995 for almost 10 years, never had a single major problem. A few failure to feeds early on and I solved that by polishing the feed ramp. I recently took it all apart, painted it matte grey on the body and gloss black in the recessed areas, added a red dot, a front grip, bought a 20 round redball, added new charging handle and iron sight. For less then 100$ I think I really made my 995 look pretty slick. I just sit on my back porch and plink with it, but I was bored and wanted to see if I could make it look better. All around a cheap, very accurate for what it is and fun gun to shoot.



  3. T Blank on November 25, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Bought it for $200 when they went for that. Mine’s been great for years now. I haven’t been shooting any of my guns for the past year after I stopped my range subscription when the plandemonic started. Also another slip over buffer pad on the stock makes it even softer feeling. The gun feels like a giant hunk of plastic though to me. Also, the promag extended mags work vastly better. Also, you forgot to mention the Ruger Charger PCC in that list of more expensive and nicer PCCs.



  4. Hayden C on November 25, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    Check out the $599 Foxtrot Mike FM-9…



  5. Shakhary Lofton on November 25, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    Can you do a review on a Panzer Arm AR12,Your videos are the best and I trust your judgment.



  6. Jonathan Brumfield on November 25, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    Have you done a review on the JRC? Just Right Carbine



  7. Mister Win on November 25, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    You’ve got to double the springs and use the follower from an original Hi-point rifle mag for those extendos(extendoes? Extendo’s?!) to work right. Luckily, the stock mags are so freaking cheap you don’t feel bad!

    The same procedure works for literally any cheap extended stick magazine, I do it to all my Pro-Mags: Buy two, double the springs and swap in a stock follower and BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! But then you gotta reload the thing and you feel sorry for yourself 🙁



  8. Joseph Knudsen on November 25, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    The extended magazines is very stupid looking and I don’t think it’s necessary especially when reloading a regular magazine is much more efficient.



  9. Dead men of Texas on November 25, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    My high point 995 within the first close to 100 rounds and with every mag it nose dived and it was my first time shooting it, shortly after that day many parts started rusting.
    Also I’m left handed and had no problem with mag release.
    I used the mag the gun came with and the two extended mags



  10. rod on November 25, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    Purchased the first gen camo finish 9mm many many years ago. Shot it with stock sights for awhile then put on a simmons red dot. Absolutely changes the gun. Point and shoot. Will wear out the center of a target at 25yds. Never had an issue. No miss feeds no miss fires, nothing. How many rounds, eh, never really kept track, but usually a 200 round box per shooting. Keep magazines clean and oiled, as with any semi auto, and no issues. Would have no problem using it for home defense. Use hollow point or frangible ammo.



  11. Gaston V Booqua on November 25, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    $200 dead pawn pump shotgun. Birds Birdshot kind cheap for home defense. Diy wax slugs??? Like f#!*it at that point lol



  12. Random American on November 25, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    I just checked and in Cali that one goes for $399 at Turners.



  13. Lord Farquaad on November 25, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Hi-Point was my first firearm, their 9mm pistol. It was all I could afford at the time being a poor college student. The best thing about it is that its very reliable. Never jammed on me once, and for all I know, other reviewers have shown it to be very resilient to being run over by cars. The con, its heavy and not necessarily the most comfortable to shoot. If money is an issue, I would always recommend Hi-Point.



  14. ProgrammingFlaw 1984 on November 25, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Do you want planet of the apes futuristic style? Yes please.



  15. Olin Seats on November 25, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    I’ve got an older model 995 that I’ve had banging around for years. It is the best gun that I do not give a single damn about. Once I ran a hundred or so rounds through the magazines they were reliable and never had a problem (the older mags springs were a little rough at first and would cause feeding problems with frequent ”nose dips” until you broke in the mag.) It is a really fun plinking gun and It’s a great camping gun. Not actually hunting, per se, but when I want a light, practically indestructible, decently reliable firearm that I won’t shed a tear for if I wind up losing it in the woods and packs a bit more punch that a 22
    .



  16. Helios Del Sol on November 25, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    I mean, the fact that you were even ABLE to put 1000 rounds through that thing is an accomplishment in itself!



  17. Peggy Castleberry on November 25, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    I am not a high point fan but demo ranch had to weld the barrel shut to stop it. I would rather have a reliable gun than a fancy high priced fishing weight. That said I wish they would accept the 32 round Glock MAGS. P.S. I worked with an agent who carried a 9 mm Kimber as backup he had issues with it. So even the higher priced guns are subject to failures.



  18. MO 2243 on November 25, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    You paid to much lol



  19. caleb mitchell on November 25, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    Honest review I think

    If you had to have it
    Ok but if you dont then get something else



  20. Ronald Pena on November 25, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    I have the 40 cal. version. It works great !



  21. Mr Anderson on November 25, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    Cries in left hand dominant 🥲



  22. Bad Driver on November 25, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Wonder if the front sight has fallen off yet? A good Friend of mine bought one, the sight fell off before we shot the first 50 rounds!! P.O.S.!



  23. Bill B. on November 25, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    I bought the 995 a few years ago. I have had an absolute blast with it. I haven’t had any issues with it other than one mag I bought (returned and got another and haven’t had any problems since)



  24. Doogie Diggler on November 25, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    My question is How many gun malfunctions did you have and if cleaning the gun after 200 rounds would salve them ?



  25. TexWebslinger on November 25, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    I have the slightly older version, 45cal version. I agree with much of what he says. Frankly, I keep it in a bed holster for in the back of the house self defense weapon. Light mount, laser mounted, 45. Short range, big bang. I hope never to depend or be forced to use it..but it is there just in case. Its not a 400 rounds a month test gun. HiPoint has great customer support. I had a hipoint 45 for a first pistol. They are not a daily carry, but they put the bullet down range in a practical point. I felt very confidant on the pistol of putting a 45 in a 2in circle at 25 yards. This 45 carbine, I have not tested to that point. I expect it to be better, but not many homes need it to be a 25yd shot for home defense! As this video said, a 100yd inside of 6 inchs (per this 9mm)should be great for home defense! ENJOY. Be safe! Thanks for the video!



  26. Prisoner of the Highway on November 25, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    This is an excellent review. Thanks for the info.



  27. Moto Muto on November 25, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    It does have a lifetime guarantee. A sub $300 firearm with a lifetime guarantee might be better. I doubt you ban get such a deal from other manufacturer’s. It’s also made in Ohio



  28. Dude Broski on November 25, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    I had one of the first gen ones in the early 2000’s. It seemed better than these but i may have just had a good one. Im older now and have a cx4 instead… honestly its not much different lol



  29. WhiskeyWon on November 25, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    I do laugh that you straight up brought a Scalarworks mount into the conversation. The mount costs 66% of the gun essentially.



  30. Dave on November 25, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    If you are not happy with the Red Ball I totally understand they suck! But I run my 15 round Promags in mine 995TS and I have never had a problem! I did have issues with my 10 mags in my c9 Yeet cannon, only cause if you drop them they tend to bust at the cheapo plastic base! If HP could make some decent mags or a Double stack that would greatly improve their performance and reliability, cause once your mags bust you’re screwed!



  31. Robert Lamb on November 25, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    I have that gun in 45acp I got one because I live in the country and did not have the money to get a more pricey types I have had no problems with mine and so people know it has a optional front pistol grip and you can also get clip mounts that you can add to it and the hi point pistol he referred to used the same clip



  32. mac yaktown on November 25, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    tell him put that elbow down



  33. Pat Rioticone on November 25, 2021 at 11:40 pm

    All firearms are tools. Just so happens the hi point should’ve been sold at harbor freight.



  34. dandexinventor on November 25, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    I’ll stay with my Beretta CX4 Storm PCC in 9mm. I bought it used for $650 in 2018. Not a single jam in about 400 rounds so far. I installed a Vortex Crossfire II and it’s a great combo, though the permanent iron sights are good. Because the factory sights are housed in a larger than usual housing which is part of the unistock, (not removable) eye relief means a red-dot will work the best, but I really like my set up, so no complaints.
    Every cheap gun I , or my friends (4 of them) have purchased don’t encourage much trust, so they only get used for plinking. One of the four has broken (my cheap, 9 shot .22 revolver) and the repairs have not been completed as it’s out of warranty and not worth the money. One other (a semi-auto 20ga shotgun) has feeding jams every shooting session and is the brunt of many jokes in our group. We call it the barska-boomer (go buy a pair of those bino’s and find out what that means).
    I have made my mind up not to buy cheap guns, or cheap optics. Oh, and add cheap magazines to the list.
    For someone who likes to solve problems, buy all three and get thrice the fun, but your motto should be something like, "If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all".



  35. Al Stinger on November 25, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    I have one of these and we call it the giggle gun because it’s so much fun to shoot. As an experiment I put a cheap red dot on mine and it actually hits reasonably well from 100 yds. The problem is you can’t see or hear the hits on the steel. My main issues are it’s a dirty gun and a PIA to take apart and clean. But all in all it’s a fun little plinker.



  36. Roy Orkes Jr. on November 25, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    There is a video where a woman warded three armed home Invaders with the Hi Point Carbine…smaller police departments used these in the 90s and early 2000s as patrol carbine…So it’s has a better track record alot of higher priced carbines



  37. Thomas Craddock on November 25, 2021 at 11:44 pm

    its a good firearm. most of what hipoint makes is just that. a good firearm, but nothing special, comfortable, or pretty. id operate one.



  38. Zephod Beeblebrox on November 25, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    I’ve had my 995 for about 2 years. I have yet to shoot it but I don’t doubt that the RedBall magazines will work. The extended promag magazine that takes 15 rounds is something I have a warning label in the box specifically not to use. Promag would not respond to my question about it nor would hi-point. So, I’ve got 3 of the 20 round mags, one of the 15 round mags and four of the 10 round mags. The 15 round mag needs the silly plastic grip removed as it slides up and down. The 10 round mags are impossible to seat properly – they need a bumper on the bottom or it’s just hopeless using the perishing things. Push in – click – remove hand. Thud – the damn thing drops on the floor.



  39. Guero M on November 25, 2021 at 11:49 pm

    These rifles r up to 400 now. They need to come out with a doublestack option



  40. Tatted and Gatted on November 25, 2021 at 11:50 pm

    I use the 15rd promag for my hi point. The 20rd is uglier than any other I have seen. The warranty is on point too. I was having light strikes and sent it in. They looked over the whole gun and replaced a bunch of things for free and did not take very long.



  41. CynicismNcyanide on November 25, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    I like mine. Ive dumped mag after mag through mine, i doubt 1000 worth but never had a problem. My only complaint is i find it a pain in the butt to disassemble to clean



  42. Mr FUBO on November 25, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    1. Considering that there is a ton of videos dedicated to "Tuning" Hi Point mags, I’m surprised it was those mags that worked well.
    2. Hi Point customer service is actually pretty damn good if you have a problem.
    3. If it took Glock mags I’d buy 2.



  43. omar reza on November 25, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    This is something, a young kid could handle this.



  44. Matt Parker on November 25, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    I’ve heard you can get really cheap (sub 100) dollar red dots that function the same as the hyper expensive ones, they’re made for paintball.



  45. Pat Rioticone on November 25, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    Reviewing a hi point is always entertaining. Don’t think its not. And yes, I own one.



  46. cody wells on November 25, 2021 at 11:54 pm

    My fist rifle I bought for myself- took apart and polished every part of the action and have never had a problem running it- only problem I had was the mag falling out, ended up shimming it tight enough for the catch to hold and it’s been very reliable. Mine is a .45 and I abuse the hell out of it, I don’t believe iv ever cleaned it properly just knocked the dirt and dust off, I can say for certain Iv never oiled it after polished. Iv had more issues with my S&W ar and 7mm mag than I have with the $305 hi-point.



  47. Kevin Harrelson on November 25, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    I still have NO IDEA how you actually do a THOUSAND rounds through any gun. Unless it is .22, that will at least $200 in ammo (most calibers will be a LOT more). I certainly could not afford to throw that much coin.



  48. John S on November 25, 2021 at 11:59 pm

    A year ago i was very interested in 9mm carbines, 1) Everybody including friends, family, YTers, said get a common caliber. I actually don’t like 9mm, but that’s a personal prejudice from being in the military and seeing cracked slides on the Beretta M9s.
    So I got a common caliber, only to see it sell out anyway, which is the big selling point on common caliber.

    2) Lots of people were hating on the Hi-Point. I get it, they’re cheap.

    3) I live in Maryland, getting a pistol is problematic, which is why I was into the concept of carbines in the first place.

    I ended up getting a Ruger 9mm carbine, and due to ammo shortages, lockdowns, etc, then actually getting back to work and being busy, have yet to fire it. If ess hits the fan, the first thing I’m probably grabbing is my autoloader shotgun. Because I’ve actually put two hundred or more shells through it.



  49. Old School Advantage on November 26, 2021 at 12:00 am

    Anything highpoint brand is absolutely garbage and without a doubt unsafe.



  50. Xurolifc on November 26, 2021 at 12:01 am

    and im a lefty :/