Sig Sauer 232 Review, My "Church Gun," A Gentleman's Self Defense Firearm

Sig Sauer 232 Review, My "Church Gun," A Gentleman's Self Defense Firearm

I’ve been carrying the Sig Sauer 232 since I bought it through the Secret Service. On the rare occasion I had some off duty, this little 380 handgun brought great comfort to me off duty protecting myself, my family, and those around me. Now retired, the Sig 232 is still one of my go to concealed carry firearms because of its stainless steel reliability, ease of use, function, precision, and comfort. I put my full faith and experience behind it.

To Follow Gary Byrne:
www.officialGaryJByrne.com
https://www.facebook.com/GaryByrneAut…
https://twitter.com/GaryByrneAuthor

50 Comments

  1. Invictus Prima on December 3, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    Personally I would follow up body shots with a head shot if I were using
    .380



  2. Sam4yeshua on December 3, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    I thought about getting one back when they still made them . Regret not buying one but man am I loving my p210 ! oh well , can’t have everything , sigh ! wish they would either release the p210 carry or bring back the 232 !



  3. Ken Pomer on December 3, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    Holly crap just found your channel



  4. Richard Kelly on December 3, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    Should everyone carry a gun ?



  5. J Thom on December 3, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    I have a Sig P232… accurate pistol. Quite the looker (if that’s important), but a slide-bitin mofo! I have big puffy rubber hogue grips on them and dare not take ’em off. Wanted to put some wood or G10’s on them.. slide would cut me up no matter how hard I tried.



  6. Matthew McBride on December 3, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    This is the only sig I have owned that had feeding problems. I loved it otherwise, but got rid of it due to the feeding problem.



  7. The Boss on December 3, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    I just picked one up that was a safe queen, maybe had 6rds fired through it from what the gun shop owner said. Je said it ranges back in the late 80s to early 90s. Anyways, the gun shop was going out of business the next day and having a close out sell. The used price was $549 with night sights… They guy sold it to me for $220. Hopefully I got my monies worth lol.

    First .380 sense I’m a 9mm and .45acp guy, what do you guys recommend for defense rounds. I picked up 4 boxes of Fort. Scott but does anyone else recommend anything else?



  8. Mike 45acp on December 3, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    You are definitely someone to learn from. Thanks for a great vidio.



  9. Rico Horton on December 3, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    I love my p232sl



  10. Луан Луоайоханссон on December 3, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    Бля ну пиздец – чего ожидал тот мужик, когда упал со стула на синюю подстилку и пытаясь полчаса достать магазин из штанов (03:15)? Что в таком состоянии он неуязвим?



  11. Eleah Anz on December 3, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    I’ve got a 96 P230SL and I. Love. It!! Great video.



  12. Dutchman 72 on December 3, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    Thankyou for sharing your info. .



  13. G MAN on December 3, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    Thanks for the review of the Sig. I own one, but it’s aluminum and blued…very light. My favorite carry weapon.



  14. uomo d'onore on December 3, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    I always thought this would be a good pistol for James Bond.



  15. KutWrite on December 3, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    How do you prefer to carry? Appendix? IWB? OWB? Shoulder (I doubt that)?



  16. Alexandru Borodin on December 3, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    l live in the former ussr. ln my country we can buy and carry firepistols for selfprotection. l am not that guy who will buy everything for its famos name. l mean next-this pistol is based on famos WALTHER PP desighn. when our red army came to zella-mehlis waffen fabrik, they got a lot of german technical documentation and factory equipment, because they wanted to replace the pistol tokarev with the new one. they found some drawbacks in the model PP. one of them is a very low position of the top cartrige in the mag. it means that the bullet is a little UP, and sometimes cartrige can stand verticaly betwine chamber and bolt face. if it is in the range-no problem, but in the real combat situation you will pay with your life, because you will not have enough time to pull the mag, to shake out that ammo, insert mag, retract slide, with no guaranty it will not happen once again. that is why mr, MAKAROV payed attention to this point and put the top cartr, nearly aline with the barrel axe, wich improved 100 % relaebility of the pistol makarov. l have a sig 232 black in 380 ACP and l had such a missfeeding each 50 shots. the company sig sauer is a very FAMOS weapon factory in the world, but don t forget the japanese frase- EVEN MONKEY CAN SOMETIMES FALL DOWN FROM THE TREES. but in general the pist 232 is a very nice pistol, but with one terrible problem. something like a very attractive girl top model with a very nice face, but without one leg.



  17. Diktator Alexander on December 3, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Sig is a German company, but I feel the P232 is the American version of the PPK.
    Definitely not a ‘James Bond’ gun, but a little bit of a secret service defensive gun.



  18. 3Pillers on December 3, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    👍



  19. Kevin Higgins on December 3, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    Carried a P239 for 15 years in Detectives and as administration. Off duty I have had my p-232. Lightweight, hardly feel it, have a second mag attached to the pancake holster. Never leave home without it



  20. Fels in der Brandung on December 3, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    Why did you protect a warlord? Why did you protect a war crime President?



  21. Cheech No Chong on December 3, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    I like what u said about not needing the newest think out on the market. I like old Ford trucks too. Had a bunch. While I was on duty I carried a Colt Official Police in .38. I like what you say. I will look into a SIG 230 or 232.



  22. Fredboat on December 3, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    Enjoyed, Good Man.



  23. georgia home boyy on December 3, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    beautiful work of art. don’t make like they used to



  24. Buster Wilson on December 3, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    Great reasoning, brother! Thanks for your service. I’m retired deputy. Carry everywhere, even though now I’m a pastor. Every gun I own is a “church gun”!



  25. Greg Evans on December 3, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    I’ve had mine since 1996 and it still looks shiny and new (stainless steel). It feels so natural in the hand and it’s really easy to point and shoot. It’s the one pistol that I will never sell and it’s a real pleasure to carry year round.



  26. Ray Clay on December 3, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Good Stuff! Im glad we are not neighbors I would never go home. LOL



  27. Jim Hovater on December 3, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    GREAT video! I carried a blued P230 as a BUG when I was an LEO. I gave it to my daughter years ago. I recently found another for $319. It will augment my 1911s.



  28. darthrevan4570 on December 3, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    what is your opinion on the best 380 loads for self defense? i been out of the gun game for many years and only recently getting back into it. i remember reading somewhere winchester silvertips were the best 380 load but like i said that was a long time ago…



  29. Denise L on December 3, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    You are too funny! "I could almost conceal a shotgun." That made me laugh. This is a harder carry for me on my slender frame, (to conceal) yet I still carry this most of the time. I have a Taurus I’ll carry if it’s too revealing, I just don’t trust it as much as the Sig. I’m still working on designing my own holster, I’ve found that a front (belly) pocket sewn into yoga shorts under pants works best for me since ladies clothes are fitted. Any other ‘holster’ is too bulky. (I’m 5’7" 130 pounds.) Still, this is an amazing gun, I love my Sig! Great video, thanks!



  30. Michael Collum on December 3, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    Great Video. The P232 SL is also my church gun. When you have a minute or two take a look at Precision One 380 on YT. "ShootingtheBull410′ has some convincing videos of tests run on most 380 ammo commonly used. Precision One was the most consistent in acceptable penetration and expansion. I use it in my Sig and my experience makes me concur .



  31. Rumpole Bailey on December 3, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    God has you covered, no doubt.



  32. Mark West on December 3, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    Great video, .380 is plenty, real good information…



  33. Cesar Chavez on December 3, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    The stainless Sig P232 will definitely be my first upcoming .380acp purchase can’t wait for the next Gunshow I’m definitely thinking about picking one up



  34. MARZ1911 on December 3, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    Unfortunately, churches are places where you 100% should carry a firearm….spare mag as well.

    Love my 232



  35. Damon Hopkins on December 3, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    I purchased this firearm over 15 yrs ago. My first gin purchase. Great fun very reliable



  36. RickJZ1973 on December 3, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Excellent video. I really enjoyed your review! The P232 is definitely a high quality firearm. It’s my ccw preferred choice.



  37. Zobeid Zuma on December 3, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    I have the version with stainless slide and the black-finished aluminum frame, so it’s several ounces lighter weight. I got smooth wood grips for it, and I like the result. The main thing I’ve observed is that it’s a very easy pistol to shoot accurately.

    I’ve looked at newer pistols, but I’m not thrilled with this trend of cramming the absolute maximum power into the absolute minimum size and weight. That seems like a great idea when comparing statistics on a page, not so great once you’ve actually got it in your hands and shooting.



  38. mike ellis on December 3, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Nice video. Nothing wrong with carrying in church. I carried in church when I started working security in the mid 1980’s. In watching you with this handgun ,I am begining to think it is better then the Walther ppks .380. Stay safe and watch your 6.



  39. R Webb on December 3, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    I like it, wish they would make mags.



  40. Rusky Rosco on December 3, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    Excellent review, thanks for your service!



  41. Doug Ruring on December 3, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Great gun! I have 2 232SLs just like yours and they are perfectly designed, balanced and incredibly accurate and a joy to carry/shoot. The factory night sights are getting dim on both pistols but are still fine "as is".



  42. lgwappo on December 3, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    Great pistol. If SIG still sold these I’d buy one.



  43. Riflemanm16a2 on December 3, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    I’ve had a blued P232 for ten years, and I carry as an ankle gun. It’s just big enough to handle like a regular gun while being compact. I agree with your assessment of its accuracy. It’s surprisingly easy to shoot well. The slide bite was never an issue for me until about a year ago! I have a scar on my thumb now. I’ve never had a failure in it either, except for the time I shot my nine or ten year old carry ammo and got a bullet stuck in the barrel (not the gun’s fault. Switch out your carry ammo regularly!).
    My only complaint is I have the older model with like yours with the fixed front sight, so installing night sights is not an option unless I get a tritium insert (Later versions have a dove tailed front sight).



  44. Youbian on December 3, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Single hand, duel hand….blunt instrument. *Versatility



  45. Ted Coyote on December 3, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    What kind of IWB holster are you using for your 232?



  46. frank ingram on December 3, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    The P230 was my first pistol, purchased back in 1993. In 2001, hired some movers, one decided to help himself to it. Still heartbroken. P230/232 are true gems. The craftsmanship and tolerances were top notch, incredibly reliable and fun to shoot. Today, used ones are going for $800+.



  47. Vermont Bound on December 3, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Love my 230sl. Will never ever sell it best ccw. Small size not heavy fully loaded 380 & drop hammer so can carry with one in the chamber ready to go. First shot is double action and then its all single.Unless you have to time to pull the trigger back into single for that first shot. Sometimes and only using hollow points like hydro shock does not like the big hole hollows. Known issue. It will get stuck on the ramp when racking. Hornady makes a smaller tip hole that it likes. So I put one hollow point in the chamber and the rest are fmj. It has never ever FTF.



  48. DONDI on December 3, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    Looks like a Bersa Thunder.



  49. Jack Bauer on December 3, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    Gotta love the old school pimp gun. I prefer the 239 as you get 8 rounds of 9 but the 232 is a great BUG.



  50. kevin conroy on December 3, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Love the gun. I carry one as a backup in my police car now. I’ve had two PPK’s and four P230/232’s. They are far and away better than the Walther