Shoten Armory Extended Action/Slide Stop Release Lever (Mossberg 500) Review

Shoten Armory Extended Action/Slide Stop Release Lever (Mossberg 500) Review

A quick review of the 3 different extended release levers from http://www.shotenarmory.com

How to install a Shoten Armory Extended Action Release Lever: http://youtu.be/-BIyZLE9k3Y

Disclaimer: I received these products for review for free, thank you ShotenArmory. I do not receive any financial compensation. This review is my personal opinion.

43 Comments

  1. John David Peer on November 22, 2021 at 6:39 pm

    Great video…thanks.
    Too much money for the product though.
    I’ll have to make one with some epoxy and a popsicle stick.
    🙁



  2. Zlittle16 on November 22, 2021 at 6:40 pm

    Have one on my Maverick 88 and it’s a great idea as long as you don’t trip it accidentally. Use the short one. You solved a minor problem but ignored the most major one. A 500 still has a tang safety you can’t reach without letting go of the grip. The 88 has a cross bolt safety you can reach with your trigger finger so you don’t have to break your grip. Pistol grips are nice and I like them IF they don’t keep you from reaching the controls in the name of just looking bad ass.



  3. Robert Kosich on November 22, 2021 at 6:42 pm

    Great video. This and the installation video were extremely helpful.



  4. Gary Tedlock on November 22, 2021 at 6:42 pm

    It was brand new,I oil it and racked it about 50 time seems to be working good now



  5. Thee Wolfe on November 22, 2021 at 6:42 pm

    I love this idea and design. But im going to take it to a local cnc shop so i can make one for less than 20$ and I can make custom length/angle for were i want it exactly



  6. Larry Yeargan on November 22, 2021 at 6:46 pm

    Is the 35° part hitting receiver when you push up ?



  7. Ranger H on November 22, 2021 at 6:48 pm

    Will this work on the mossberg 500 20 gauge?



  8. Elvis Mikel on November 22, 2021 at 6:49 pm

    This has been bugging me about my Mossberg for years! Thank you.



  9. endzie on November 22, 2021 at 6:53 pm

    What type of stock do you have? Did you have to modify your stock to prevent rubbing?



  10. joseph galantes on November 22, 2021 at 6:54 pm

    I also have a pistol grip and adjustable stock on my Mossberg 500. I’ll probably get the short one. Thanks for the review.



  11. jay Andre on November 22, 2021 at 6:59 pm

    Hey buddy, I know your video is 3 years old but what pistol grip and stock do you have on your Mossberg? Thanks, Jay



  12. jazzmansnapon on November 22, 2021 at 6:59 pm

    Works great. Very pleased. Would highly recommend



  13. The NiTe - OwL on November 22, 2021 at 6:59 pm

    Very cool. It is a must need on these pistol grip shotguns . 45.00 dollars is fair, but with shipping and tax. Yes we all have to pay the damn tax . But 18.50 to ship. Really?



  14. Joel Esquivel on November 22, 2021 at 6:59 pm

    What stock do you have on that pump? Very nice and beefy grip!!



  15. Kilo Foxtrot on November 22, 2021 at 7:00 pm

    I bought the Shoten for my Shockwave that I’d put a brace on. I took it to the gunsmith at Shooter’s World in Tampa and about 2hrs later, he called me at work and said it was done. I stopped in and picked it up on my lunch break and didn’t have time to test it. When I got it home that night, I racked it… and slide didn’t lock forward. I pumped it again, same deal, would not lock forward. Obviously I have an issue. Is it a product error, human error on the gunsmith’s part or is it operator error and my fault? Anyone else have this situation? [



  16. James Peterson on November 22, 2021 at 7:01 pm

    Mike, you did a tremendous job! I am the Tactical Support Director for Shoten Armory. I was a customer first as I was experiencing the exact same problem thousands of other Mossberg owners have. I was looking for a solution, Ergo, Shoten Armory. Take a few minutes and review our website. Plenty of information and outstanding products and services. http://www.shotenarmory.com



  17. Al Gerbitz on November 22, 2021 at 7:02 pm

    So the first one fit you best?



  18. Billy McFuggin on November 22, 2021 at 7:02 pm

    really cool product but $45.00!! holy wallet slapper batman



  19. Kenny McIntire on November 22, 2021 at 7:03 pm

    Great Video! Perfect timing. I just bought my Mossberg 590 and quickly realized this slide release issue would be a show stopper. I turned to YouTube and found your video. I’m instantly relieved and will be buying one of these and having my gunsmith install it. Thank you for the education. Well done! Subbed 😉



  20. Mel Gibson on November 22, 2021 at 7:04 pm

    Thank you so much



  21. Jeff A on November 22, 2021 at 7:06 pm

    Very cool!



  22. legnini on November 22, 2021 at 7:11 pm

    My hat is off to you for installing those extensions 3x to make this video. I just installed one on my mossberg. It was quite a painful process to reassemble the trigger group, but I managed to get it done, thanks to your instructional video.



  23. Dark Ra on November 22, 2021 at 7:13 pm

    Is that a soft grip? like rubber or something?



  24. NEVER ? THE CREATOR, ? THE CREATION. . . on November 22, 2021 at 7:14 pm

    VERY GREAT VIDEO!😎 LOVE HOW U MADE IT SHARP AND BASIC ALL THE SIZES ON THE SHOTGUN, U GET FOUR THUMBS UP. .FOR ALL WHO SCRATCH THEY HEAD THE OTHER TWO ARE MY SHADOW DUH HA🤣



  25. Dylan Martinez - Gen Z rich on November 22, 2021 at 7:15 pm

    Thanks for showing us man!



  26. BassSniperTV on November 22, 2021 at 7:17 pm

    For that much I’ll break out my welding machine and mod the stock one.🤔💪💯



  27. Geraldine B on November 22, 2021 at 7:19 pm

    This really is a great company. They will go out of their way to make sure you have what you need. And no I dont work for them. I got an extended action release from them, and they threw in a grip sleeve, and were willing to help me get other parts that they dont even carry at cost. Its worth calling them up, and talking to them.



  28. Scout Sniper on November 22, 2021 at 7:20 pm

    The long one and the angled one I would worry about getting snagged on something or accidentally hitting in a stressful situation but I would like the shorter one. Less chance of me hitting it accidentally



  29. Hoyt Archery on November 22, 2021 at 7:20 pm

    45$ you have got to be kidding me….. man fuck american made. it should say made by greedy fucks that need a new hot tube for their yatch. it should be 10$ max. screw I’m just gonna make a home made one great idea but wow you guys have some morals to sort out if you want to charge people that much how do you sleep at night…. o yeah its easy to sleep in a large mansion.



  30. Blake Wyatt on November 22, 2021 at 7:21 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to do this video..
    I agree everyone with a pistol grip needs one..and that incudes me!



  31. Ryan Allan on November 22, 2021 at 7:21 pm

    Should work for the Maverick 88 right?



  32. Aj Gray on November 22, 2021 at 7:21 pm

    Hey yo mike,

    I honestly don’t own a gun… Yet. However i enjoy you’re videos and I’ve been meaning to tell you, thats a nice wooden table. Lol perhaps we can enjoy a couple milksteaks some time. Haha

    Your fan

    PPH Valet a.k.a. The Nightman



  33. Way of the Dog MHDogman on November 22, 2021 at 7:24 pm

    Thank you. I didn’t know.



  34. Voel One on November 22, 2021 at 7:26 pm

    About $70 with shipping? No thanks. Way too much money for a piece of aluminum.



  35. Gary Tedlock on November 22, 2021 at 7:26 pm

    Has any body had any problems with there after the installation like action seems to be hard or sticking



  36. NOTCHU87 on November 22, 2021 at 7:29 pm

    Installed it just like it is shown here. It function checks as the video shows until it’s in the gun. Then it won’t work. Sending it in isn’t a option.



  37. xtreemej7 on November 22, 2021 at 7:29 pm

    Thanks for sharing. Just what I was looking for!



  38. Shiva Rama on November 22, 2021 at 7:32 pm

    wouldn’t it hurt fingers while shooting because of vibrations? ?



  39. Anti Dem on November 22, 2021 at 7:32 pm

    I just installed the angled version on my Maverick 88 with ATI pistol grip stock. My verdict is: Don’t even consider putting a pistol grip on your Mossberg without also buying one of these for it – they’re an absolute necessity. As for the $45 price tag, well, do you want a shotgun that’s really ready for home defense/SHTF, or don’t you? There are some things in life that you just don’t skimp on, and personal defense is one of them. So skip Starbucks for a week, get one of these, and make your Mossberg the gun it has the potential to be.



  40. Peter Dutoit on November 22, 2021 at 7:33 pm

    M



  41. charlesrs on November 22, 2021 at 7:36 pm

    will this work on a mossburg shockwave with a knoxx bleachers grip gen 3?



  42. tinfoil hat on November 22, 2021 at 7:36 pm

    Now do the safety



  43. John Holcomn on November 22, 2021 at 7:36 pm

    Great video for the mysterious M500 trigger assembly. For years I’ve BEEN AFRAID TO KNOCK OUT ANY TRIGGER PINS in a Mossberg trigger assembly. Not anymore. Excellent video. Thank you, Sir.