Savage Arms B22 FV 22LR Rimfire Rifle Review

Savage Arms B22 FV 22LR Rimfire Rifle Review

Our review of the new for 2017 Savage Arms B22 FV rimfire rifle in .22LR. Rifle is wearing a Bushnell Rimfire Optics 3-12x40mm scope with side-focus and duplex reticle.

22 Comments

  1. William Bradler on December 9, 2021 at 10:53 pm

    @SavageShooters what would you say your overall review is on the Bushnell rimfire series? I have been considering the 6-18×40 doe my 17hmr however can’t seem to find an honest review, I’ve also been considering spending a little more to guarantee the quality with vortex or Nikon. I can’t find any of this series on the shelf anywhere near me.



  2. David Brewer on December 9, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    Good job buddy! Not bad for Straight factory rifle.



  3. Coop Laroche on December 9, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    I really feel like this video does not show the potential for this gun. I was using Winchester 38 grain hollow points and I was putting 4 bullets in a single hole at 50 yards with a simple 3-9×50. Some flyers with the 13 mile an hour winds but I am thoroughly impressed with this gun.



  4. Shannon Highley on December 9, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    Not bad. Control your breathing and you’ll reduce the strays. Several were north and south – dead giveaways for breathe control. Happy shooting!



  5. Malcolm E. Taylor on December 9, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    My MkII BRJ with SK Rifle Match is a tack driver! I’m a UK shooter…



  6. Just4Fun on December 9, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    How would you compare this and American rimfire 22lr vs 77/22 ruger? I was looking at a 77/22 in magnum 22. Blue barrel an black synthetic stock. You think its a good buy? 2014 model



  7. TheKajunkat on December 9, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    have you tried any premium match ammunition yet? I want to start a project with one but it needs to be less than 1 MOA consistently.



  8. Charles Ohlandt on December 9, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Awesome



  9. Dutch Jennings on December 9, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    I’m considering one of these in left hand. My question is about weight considering the heavy barrel model vs. the base sporter barrel. I think the bull barrel might be worth a few extra bucks compared to the base model, but I MAY decide to hunt with this rifle a bit and not use it just as a bench rifle. I found with my Savage 10 FLCP-SR it was too heavy and not well balanced for hunting use, so I purchased a Savage 11 Trophy Hunter XP for hunting, which I think will be much easier to pack up and down Virginia mountains. I don’t want the same issue with this 22, so any feedback/suggestions? Thanks!



  10. David Foesch on December 9, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Sorry, Scrolled down and saw it was at 50 yards



  11. MontebelloRIP on December 9, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    I fitted an EGW rail so I could bring the scope back. .8” at 100yards with Federal Standard Velocity 40gr.
    I’m thinking of getting the B17 FV now!



  12. Yorktown 1781 on December 9, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Ho far away were you shooting the targets? Not 50 ft I hope. Plus a windy day. I have a 10 22 that shoots that good or better at 75 yards with the right ammo. My 10 22 shoot 1 and 1/4 inch groups at 100 yards.



  13. W Stewart on December 9, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Thank you for the detailed review. I enjoyed seeing the targets. Our groups are very similar – good groups yet with consistent presence of fliers. I don’t shoot enough rimfire groups to know if this is common to the ammo or just me. Do you recommend that Bushnell Scope? I’m looking for something with the target turrets to quickly transition between 50, 75 and 100 yard shooting.



  14. budget gamer2017 on December 9, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    Try more ammo.
    My mk2 trr-sr seems to be very picky as with all the savage rim fires I’ve owned.
    I’ve had the gun for 3 or 4 years and many many round.. many different kinds of ammo. But it has only shot 2 kinds of ammo well. The first time I shot it had some gold medal match left over and I literally shot .000 at 25 yards and then a week ago a guy gave me 6 shots of cci ar tactical and it shot around .1-2 at 50. Beating everything I tried that day including some really high end eley.
    The gun shoots about .5-1.5 with everything else which is unacceptable for me.
    .5in consistently at 50 is my limit for hunting squirrel so I don’t even take my mk2. Hoping the b22 I get isn’t as picky



  15. Richard Croft on December 9, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    What was the distance of the range test?



  16. Todd Ellerby on December 9, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    All targets were at 50 yrs, correct? Sounds like a great rifle for my kids. They shoot open or peep sights in prone at 15 yrs.



  17. WeekendWarriors on December 9, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    did it come with small rail sections on top to mount a scope or are those sold separately?



  18. lyle christensen on December 9, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    Why didn’t review the left handed version? Also, never thought to shoot a right handed bolt action with a bipod.



  19. Rocket Man on December 9, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    Can you do a video comparing this to the CZ 455 Ultralux?



  20. Rich Wilcox on December 9, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    Thanks for the review of this firearm



  21. Todd Ellerby on December 9, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    All targets were at 50 yrs, correct? Sounds like a great rifle for my kids. They shoot open or peep sights in prone at 15 yrs.



  22. David Foesch on December 9, 2021 at 11:49 pm

    What Distance were those shot at?