Mossberg 940 JM Pro Review – Factory Ready 3Gun Shotgun?

Mossberg 940 JM Pro Review – Factory Ready 3Gun Shotgun?

Hey! Let’s shoot some 3-gun with this Mossberg’s latest entry into the 3-gun shotgun market, the 940 JM Pro!

Video Timestamps:
0:00 Intro
1:39 Profile/Handling
3:56 Controls/Loading
6:49 Sights/Trigger
9:45 Final Verdict

Shell Caddies:
Safariland 086 Quad Load Caddies: https://shrsl.com/2vi2h

Need AR500 steel targets?
http://www.targetsusa.com/

Check us out on FaceBook and IG:
https://www.facebook.com/supersetca/
https://www.instagram.com/thesupersetca/

50 Comments

  1. Curtis Boynton on November 22, 2021 at 7:43 pm

    I’d like to see a run through of the Stoeger M3K again but in a longer, more in depth video like this one



  2. Don Jarvis on November 22, 2021 at 7:46 pm

    Excellent evaluation! I like the good with the bad. I dont get why mossberg didn’t fix the trigger issues. Something like that is obvious to a shooter. After all the shit over the 930 you would expect a serious test period. The gun should have been done right. Not close enough. Great job man.



  3. SheepDog Protector on November 22, 2021 at 7:47 pm

    Stove pike



  4. Nck Sndr on November 22, 2021 at 7:54 pm

    Such a good channel!



  5. roger buss III on November 22, 2021 at 7:57 pm

    The 1301 is $1000? So is the street price for the 940 pro.. i haven’t found available for less than 1k and ive been looking.



  6. Iamfrag on November 22, 2021 at 7:57 pm

    Thanks king.



  7. CPA CMA on November 22, 2021 at 7:59 pm

    I just bought this 940 brand new a few days ago on August 28, 2021 for home defense and plinking. I have not fired it once. While searching for videos on Youtube on how to disassemble this gun and clean it, I came across a video that someone put up showing this thing jamming very badly. After watching it, I was worried and wondered if mine was ok. So, I decided to manually cycle rounds through it, without firing the gun, to see if mine would properly cycle. So, I loaded it with four rounds of new Winchester 2 3/4 inch and four shells of a Turkish brand ammo that I bought(there was no American ammo) when I picked up my gun from the store…..eight rounds total in the magazine. I began my test by manually pulling back the operating handle quickly, which put a round from the magazine into the port, and then letting the handle go to chamber the round. Almost every second or third pull of the handle caused a jam just like in that "jamming" video. I tested the gun for twenty minutes this way experiencing a round getting stuck in the loading port and not chambering almost every other pull. At one point, the gun actually chambered a round loading the gun while trying to simultaneously place TWO ROUNDS in the loading port…one round was entirely in the port while the other was partially sticking out of the magazine and partially in the port jamming it against an the other round sitting in the port. It was jammed so badly that it took a half hour for me to figure out how to unjam the rounds from the loading port. All this happened while a round was still in the chamber loaded which I could not remove because after unjamming the port with the two rounds, the bolt got locked in the forward position and I cannot open it to eject the round…the operating handle and bolt are jammed shut. Now I have to send this brand new, never fired gun back to Mossberg with it loaded. After I get it back, I’ll sell it….for a huge loss no doubt. Just think, for a couple hundred dollars more I could have bought a Binelli…..smfh



  8. Austin Barnard-Anderson on November 22, 2021 at 7:59 pm

    Great review as always. For folks looking for a 3 gun shotgun the 930 is really bad. The 940 might be better, but just get an M3K and never look back.



  9. Danilo Badua on November 22, 2021 at 8:00 pm

    Base on your ownership, would you recommend this shotgun for HD and occasional range fun? I am not into 3 gun games. I bought a Stoeger M3K in 2019 based in no small part to your review. I had the barrel cut down from 24 inch to 20 inch, and I am satisfied with that gun. That is an inertia drive and now I would like to have a gas operated. Are there any slop in the forearm and trigger group of the 940??

    I used to own a Mossberg Security and I had plenty of quality control issue with that, I had to sold away the piece.



  10. Martin Cruz on November 22, 2021 at 8:03 pm

    3:41 That shell ejection bounce off the camera = awesome!



  11. Where’s Waldo on November 22, 2021 at 8:05 pm

    My son just got one of these.



  12. bradhoelscher on November 22, 2021 at 8:05 pm

    I bought an M3K after discovering it on this channel. Great vids. Also the M3K is AWESOME.



  13. Jake on November 22, 2021 at 8:07 pm

    Have had at least 2000 rounds of birdshot through my classic Mossberg 930 28" field 12 ga. My only complaints: 1) loading gate port’s edges were sharp and had to file-down the aluminum edges, 2) the pyramidal plastic grip areas on the forestock and buttock were hard and pointy, so sanded those down a bit too.

    Otherwise happy with the shotgun, especially since it was only $650 MSRP. Not a 3-gunner, just a hunter. I prefer firearms with aluminum receivers because aluminum is strong enough and doesn’t rust. You look at Remington shotgun receivers which are typically steel and they rust quite easily, unfortunately.



  14. sha6mm on November 22, 2021 at 8:07 pm

    Buy a 1100 or 11-87 or Beretta 400 clean them every time you use them and they will be extremely reliable.



  15. STOPtheSICKNESS on November 22, 2021 at 8:08 pm

    I love your video intro bro good way to start your video



  16. Cleve Kim on November 22, 2021 at 8:08 pm

    What ear pro is he wearing?



  17. D51D _ on November 22, 2021 at 8:10 pm

    Gotta support this channel!



  18. ulf lyng on November 22, 2021 at 8:10 pm

    Good vid



  19. Swing4gr8nessN8 on November 22, 2021 at 8:11 pm

    That intro tho.



  20. Sherri Acevedo on November 22, 2021 at 8:11 pm

    Great presentation



  21. Aiden Dirt Bikes on November 22, 2021 at 8:12 pm

    Could I get a 28” barrel for it????? I notice I can’t find a 940 specific 28” but would the 930 barrel work? Or no



  22. 1341usmc on November 22, 2021 at 8:12 pm

    Awesome work as usual. Glad to see some shotgun content again – can’t believe its been 6 years!



  23. a c on November 22, 2021 at 8:14 pm

    Wish they would produce some of these.
    Been out of stock since last summer.
    Sad I didn’t snatch one up when they were available.



  24. William Harkness on November 22, 2021 at 8:15 pm

    always wanted to do 3 gun. 2 of my buddies and I were gonna do it, but alas, one of us committed suicide. gave up all thoughts of it for the past 15 years. Gonna do it now. Wanna run a "coach gun"(lol). This video was awesome. Thanks for the no bullshit info.



  25. BorkWoof on November 22, 2021 at 8:16 pm

    Hey man, any plans to look at the new 1301?



  26. -kajabaTSA- обзоры оружия on November 22, 2021 at 8:17 pm

    My lovely gun-channel!



  27. s g on November 22, 2021 at 8:18 pm

    JM pros are nice. Eats everything.



  28. Pierce Foss on November 22, 2021 at 8:18 pm

    you need more subs. The video quality you provide is great



  29. Steve & Kathy Lane on November 22, 2021 at 8:20 pm

    Enjoyed the video! My 940 has been 100% reliable since purchase early last year with factory ammo. The trigger assembly fits with no play of any sort. I tuned the stock to fit me with shims included and set the over travel trigger stop. It also breaks at 41/2 pounds. Make sure the extended tube and choke are still tight after extended shooting if new to the type guns. No brace on tube to keep tight as it affected slug accuracy according to Mossberg. Mine is cameo and black controls. Sure can’t shoot it now like I did with ammo shortage.



  30. Grant Starey on November 22, 2021 at 8:20 pm

    any chance yall may take a look at the savage renegauge competition? have a 930jmpro with the sbe comp piston and or3gun spacer and runs like a dream.



  31. Bradley Hetherington on November 22, 2021 at 8:20 pm

    Are you a veteran? If so I’m sure I’m your Hygienist from Palo Alto



  32. James Louden on November 22, 2021 at 8:21 pm

    Hey thanks for the help… I pulled the trigger and bought a 1-6 swaro with the brt reticule I got a floor model new for 1695 hopefully that’s a good deal… what is the best 3 gun shotgun would you say?



  33. wyatt turner on November 22, 2021 at 8:21 pm

    There is an allen key located on the rear of the trigger guard. You adjust that to change your over travel of the trigger. I set mine all the way in & then dialed it back until the trigger released while pulling it back. & then for good measure I went about a quarter turn more just to make sure it won’t get in the way down the road. I have practically no over travel on the trigger now.



  34. eddie76201985 on November 22, 2021 at 8:26 pm

    On mine my chokes come loose after 10 rounds. How can I keep it from doing this and is it possible to strip the threads if over tightened?



  35. Dorian LeClair on November 22, 2021 at 8:26 pm

    Great video. I love Jerry Miculek and the work he does.



  36. KID SANJOSE on November 22, 2021 at 8:26 pm

    This gun a POS ITS SUPER finicky with ammunition😢



  37. Davepool on November 22, 2021 at 8:26 pm

    I got lucky and found one around last August. It’s fantastic!



  38. Doug Krultz on November 22, 2021 at 8:28 pm

    came over from the gun collective. looks like interesting content on your channel 👍



  39. K D on November 22, 2021 at 8:31 pm

    high quality & very informative reviews as always



  40. Justin Bryant on November 22, 2021 at 8:32 pm

    Nice shotgun but it’s almost useless to me. I dont need 24 inch barrel



  41. Mastodon24 on November 22, 2021 at 8:34 pm

    🤤 Flawless; as always.



  42. joey mendoza on November 22, 2021 at 8:36 pm

    New gun but with "less" issues. Not worth it



  43. saladin allah on November 22, 2021 at 8:36 pm

    Something to consider. Again, great details.



  44. David Tate on November 22, 2021 at 8:37 pm

    Not worth a 1000$ get one for 650 that to much .it’s a good looking gun. But it’s all hype I do like it .🤔



  45. Guy Fox on November 22, 2021 at 8:38 pm

    Nice videos brother new subscriber TGC sent me.



  46. Scott Winterton on November 22, 2021 at 8:38 pm

    Great presentation, thanks!



  47. James Young on November 22, 2021 at 8:39 pm

    Which one would you choose? M3k or 940jm pro



  48. Jeremy McAuliff on November 22, 2021 at 8:40 pm

    Just bought a 940 JM Pro. I’m not a 3 gunner, and it’s doubtful I ever will be. The 940 JM has many of the features I was looking for in a home defense/ sporting shotgun. Hope it serves me well



  49. tmvng on November 22, 2021 at 8:42 pm

    Working on my quad load.



  50. Moss Ranch Outdoors on November 22, 2021 at 8:42 pm

    Good review,very well put together. Subscribed